Hard to Compliment

Some things are really hard to compliment.  For example, I think girls with big ears are cute.

Girls like Amy Smart

I like the type of ears that, when a girl wears her hair down, the tops of them stick out.  I doubt this is common, because all my google fu was useless in finding pictures of unnamed cute girls with big ears.

It sounds like an insult, doesn’t it?  Big ears.  Like I’m going around mocking elephants.

I am not attracted to elephants with big ears. Just girls.

In fact, most girls that have them, I assume were teased for them.  They hide them, under specially designed hair cuts and hats and other optical illusions that girls know to make me think they look different than they actually do.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m generally a fan of the spectacle, all the work the ladies do to impress … well someone else, but I still benefit from the visuals.

This one, however, it makes me said.  Even if I want to tell a girl “Your ears are so cute” she bulks.  It’s like I’ve built my own “Do these pants make me look fat?” trap.  It’s like an unescapable, back-handed compliment, and unless you’re a pick up artist playing with negs, it doesn’t really work. 

If you didn’t know, negs are semi-mean compliments designed to throw a cute girl out of her comfort zone, and make her work to impress you.  It’s a tricky game to play with the ladies, especially because you can get accidentally mean, and you shouldn’t fake a sense of humour you don’t have.  Plus, I sincerely like her ears, and if she’s feeling like she needs to compensate for them, I done screwed up.

Is this just me?  Am I the only one who thinks big earls are cute?  Because Google Image Search suggests I might be.  I mean, if most of my top five celebrity crushes didn’t have them, I never would have been able to give you this other example of Jordana Brewster

Who has been kind enough not to slap a restraining order on me

And I’m pretty sure, even in the two pictures I’ve provided, those girls have minimized their ears.  I couldn’t find many good ones.

Oh!

Zooey Deschanel!

Here’s a good one!  Zooey Deschanel!  Why don’t we see more girls with those kind of cute ears?  That is exactly the look I’m thinking of, and I would be happy to see more of it.

And, this blog was written in February of 2011.  I mention that explicitly so that the next time I get in a fight over a girl over whether or not I was being sincere when I tell her her big ears are adorable, or sexy, or whatever adjective I use to get what I want from her, I have this as proof.  There, future girl, I wrote this before I met you, so now you have to forgive me, and realize, I really like those ears.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://renegadefolk.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/hard-to-compliment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. At the request of the commenter, this comment has been removed.

    • That doesn’t sound pathetic to me at all. Look, it inspired me to write you a novel, because I want you to know I get it.

      I’m really sorry to hear that people are making fun of you for that! But let me tell you something — things don’t stay that way. I was a really nerdy teenager. I was a skinny guy with glasses, and I could never get my hair to do what I wanted and I had terrible skin, to the point that I had a dermatologist who lived 2 hours from where I lived, and I the medicine he put me on to clear up my acne meant I had to avoid the sun like it was a death ray. I literally did not have a date through all of high school.

      There were two things that changed it. First of all, my friend Dan. Dan was a year younger, and he was one of the most charming, popular guys in his grade. He went on proactiv, an acne medicine I had avoided, and became depressed (a side effect of the medication). I couldn’t figure out why he did it, because when I looked at him, I thought “You’re acne’s not that bad, You have like, two pimples, and now you’re way less fun.” Eventually I realized it seemed a lot worse to him because it was his acne. Everything always seems like it’s more important when it’s you. People will make an offhanded comment once in a while, but if it’s something you’re concerned about, it seems like a bigger deal.

      That’s when I stopped taking the medicine which meant I couldn’t go in the sun. People still came up to me all the time with Acne hints, but I learned (and yes, I mean learned, because it was hard at first but it got easier) to just ignore them. I told myself “I know it feels like people really care, but did you ever notice Dan’s skin?” It just seems worse when it comes up when it’s your problem. Other people are over it so fast.

      I thought of myself as a nerdy guy, and carried myself as one, and the only place I just acted like me was in drama class. Those kids actually knew me, because something about that place made me confident, and act like myself. At grad, I was about to leave, when I heard one of the girls from that class was looking for me, because she wanted to dance. This beautiful girl, Katlin, shouldn’t have been interested in me, because I was a skinny nerdy guy in glasses, I thought. But she didn’t see me like that because in drama class I was a smart, funny guy who was willing to put himself out there. She knew me from where I had confidence, and so she saw me as a different person. I’m sad to say that night, I left without seeing her, because I wasn’t smart enough to realize she just liked me, and I thought it was a trick. I can be pretty dumb sometimes, but I’ve learned since she was really looking for me.

      The key here is it really does get better. Other people seem to notice things about you, and yeah, they’ll pick on you, but they forget about it so fast. It doesn’t matter to them. And when you’re younger, everyone has this idea of “Normal” that they expect you to live up to, where everyone looks and acts all the same. Trust me, that disappears. I work with a bunch of ex-hockey players now who wouldn’t have talked to me in high-school, and now invite me out as one of them. If I introduced my 17 year old self to some of the smart, talented, beautiful women I’ve dated since I learned that I’m smart and funny and confident, not shy and nerdy and pimply, he wouldn’t have believed those girls would ever be interested in him.

      There are people in the world who would love your ears, and you’ll find them.

      Now, the operation; look, I’d be sad if a girl with “a good figure and a pretty face” decided she didn’t want her ears to stick out, but if you want that operation, it should be your choice. I don’t likek my glasses, so I wear contacts, and I’m considering lazik surgery. If you really, really, really dislike your ears, and you think you’d rather wake up everyday, look in the mirror, and see a face with different ears, then maybe it is worth considering. Don’t ever do it for the people who make fun of you, because trust me, they’re almost out of your life. If your life, for you, would be better, then it’s worth considering.

      But not everyone who notices your ears will want to tease you. Some will think that they are beautiful, and adorable, and make you special in the greatest way possible. I obviously think you should keep them as they are, and just tough it out to the day when people see they’re a reason you’re gorgous. I don’t have to live through the day to day, but if anything I’ve said makes you happier with your ears, then this may be one of the most important blogs I’ve ever written. I think you should wear your hair down to your mom’s wedding, and remember that there are people out there who are looking for ways to tell you your ears are the greatest, and see what that confidence does for you.

  2. I am so glad you posted this because I love big ears too! On my 10-point “hotness scale,” a girl with cute ears goes up a whole point! My friends all think I’m weird, but I TOTALLY know what you mean! I’ve not had any luck with the googling for cute ears either, but I do know that many girls love to have their ears gently “chewed” on, as it is a hot sensual spot.

  3. I have big ears! Yay! Well not big, there is nothing big about me. I never made it to 5ft, boo! and I very slim all over (slim nicer than skinny isn’t it?)

    Anyhoo, my ears stick out a mile each way. I think they have a county of their own. But my sister said to me that she loves my ears and she wishes her stuck out. My first reaction was “What is wrong with you?”, but then she told me that she really loves them and they are what make me, me.

    So, world these are my ears! Say hello! 🙂


Leave a comment